the whole-y grail

the whole-y grail

the whole-y grail

Official blog of the warden ettinger group, a full-service, Phila., PA-based PR firm serving a diverse consumer, lifestyle + nonprofit clientele. Our culinary division, The Whole Enchilada PR, caters to restaurateurs, chefs + other food-related businesses, while "the word exchange" is aimed at clients seeking à la carte copywriting services.

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

the most annoying + hated word/phrases of 2012

January 4, 2013 , , ,

→In what will go down as one of my biggest copouts of 2013, I am lazily, yet happily, sharing a post by one of my leading go-to resources, PR Daily and skimping on a thought-provoking, educational, how-to writerly post.

(Yes, I used writerly. I was inspired by a graphic artist’s use of designerly on a phone call earlier today. Technically, “writerly” is accurate. “Designerly,” I’m not so sure.)

Either way, as a lover (and loather) of words, I couldn’t resist reposting this list of the most annoying and hated word/phrases of the year. Reading this was far more fun than writing my own post, and after an on again-off again holiday work schedule that left my brain duller than I anticipated, it just felt like the right thing to do for me, and likely for you. I do hope you’ll circle back; now that the cobwebs have cleared, I’ll be aiming for more meaningful content next week. For now, enjoy the list and feel free to leave a comment if the spirit (or caffeine/libation) moves you. And, if anyone has dared use the acronym, YOLO, live or in a text, I need to hear about that.

For the record, I love the Huxtable reference, “twitterverse” and “just sayin’.” “Double down” makes me cringe. —DEW

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

